Samcheok Beach Life and “3 Things I Don’t Understand about Koreans and the beach”

As the weather has been getting progressively warmer, I have been frolicking about in the beaches close to my school and house and they are outstanding. Here’s a some visuals to make you jealous…

Image

Tanning my shins and ankles in the beautifulness.

Image

Small little village next to the beach. Consists of a couple restaurants, convenience stores and motels. This would be PRIME real estate in the US, but here, everyone is just chilling with their seaweed and large hats at the beach.

Image

More beach views…

Image

Those mountains against the water is probably my favorite part of this beach. so lovely. Also I love how clear and blue the water is, just turquoise and fabulous…

Image

OH, HERRO THERE. sitting on the beach in my teacher attire. getting weird looks. oh well it’s what I do… waygook-in alert 😛

I come to this beach while I wait for my bus. It is right across the street from my school and QUITE gorgeous. I was super blessed to be placed near the ocean as I feel it is my natural habitat. 

 

Now for my list of “3 Things I Don’t Understand about Koreans and the beach”

1. Why don’t Koreans know how to swim? Korea is a PENINSULA. surrounded by water on 3 sides.you would think there would be PLENTY of chances to learn how to swim… and IF THEY DO know how, why are swimmers not allowed to go past mid thigh in the ocean? There is literally a barrier about 2.5 feet in and you are not allowed to swim past it. Like really? I can’t even boogie board in water that shallow. Given my height maybe it is hip depth for most Koreans but uh still? PLUS there’s usually life guards. I’m so confused.

2. Korean girls: UHM you do realise if you are trying to be modest or are not confidant in your body, wearing a white shirt over your suit does you no good in either department. You should really wear black or how about just take the shirt off all together? We all know you are just feigning modesty.

3. On the opposite side of the spectrum. IT IS HOT OUTSIDE. why are you middle aged folks wearing full hiking gear to the beach? (for those who are uninformed it typically consists of hiking pants, hiking shirt, hiking jacket, tennis shoes and a hat.) Like, I know you don’t want to get darker but that’s really the only thing in your closet you felt appropriate for the BEACH? Maybe you should just stay inside. Also, can I introduce the idea of SUNSCREEN

I assume this list will grow as the summer continues on. This is two weekends at the beach worth of confusion. Does this happen all over Korea or have I just been going to the wrong beaches?

xoxo from SK ❤

Leave a comment